Previous | Next



Jersey, at 45 square miles (117 square km) in size, is the largest of the British Channel Islands. The Island is located 85 miles (135 km) south of mainland Britain and 14 miles (22km) from the coast of France.

The population of around 87,000 includes over 12,500 professionals working within finance and support industries.

Jersey tower

The Island’s main language is English. The British pound (£) and Jersey pound (valued 1:1) form its retail currency, with all major currencies accepted for financial transactions.

Jersey’s status as a Crown Dependency gives the Island constitutional rights of self-government and judicial independence. These rights were granted

by Royal Charter 800 years ago and are unaffected by changes to United Kingdom or European government. This offers both businesses and investors the benefits of an independent international finance centre, which is close to the United Kingdom and mainland Europe. Jersey’s legislative assembly, the Sates of Jersey, comprising 53 elected Members has total responsibility for the Island’s domestic legislation, including taxation and financial regulation.

The Island has a special relationship with the European Union, defined by Protocol. Neither a member nor associate member, the special relationship with the European Union is ratified by Protocol 3 of the Treaty of Accession of the United Kingdom to the European Community. Through this Protocol, Jersey complies with European Union Directives on trade in industrial and agricultural products but is not bound by Directives or Regulations in other areas such as European Monetary Union, Taxation or Financial Services.

The States of Jersey has agreed to implement recommendations resulting from the recent ‘Clothier Review’ into the Island’s structure of Government. In doing so Jersey will benefit from a more efficient legislative process within the stability of its historical grounding.

Jersey map

Previous | Next