About Geneva


The city of Geneva is the capital of the Canton of Geneva. The Canton of Geneva is small at only 282 square km and is largely isolated from the rest of Switzerland. Of its 107.5km frontier 103km border onto France and only 4.5km actually connect it to the rest of Switzerland. Despite its isolation Geneva has an international airport with direct flights to most of the European capitals. Paris and Milan are only an hour away by plane and London, Rome and Madrid can be reached in less than two hours.

The Canton of Geneva has a population of 424,100 with some 182,500 living in the city of Geneva itself. The Canton of Geneva has higher percentage of foreigners living in it than in any other Canton with some 37% of the population classed as foreigners. Part of the reason for this is that the city of Geneva is home to the headquarters of a large number of international corporations and organisations including the International Red Cross, the World Trade Organisation, the United Nations and CERN where the world wide web was born.

Geneva is also a financial centre of international significance with many Swiss and international private banks located there.

About Switzerland

Switzerland famous for its banking services, clocks, cheese and chocolate is a landlocked mountainous country of 41,284 square km bordered by Germany France, Italy, Austria and Liechtenstein. The official languages are German, French, Italian and Romansch but English is widely spoken in the financial business sector. The capital of Switzerland is Bern. The currency is the Swiss Franc. The total population of Switzerland is around 7,261,200.

Switzerland is divided into 23 Cantons. The national government has responsibility for the protection of the country and the military services, postal services and telecommunications, the monetary system, transportation and diplomatic relations with other countries. The cantonal governments have responsibility for the provision of education, transportation and social institutions within their own Cantons.

Switzerland declared itself a neutral country in 1812 and has maintained this status ever since. Switzerland is not a member of the European Union although it has entered into a number bilateral agreements with the European Union that cover areas such as the movement of persons, transport, agriculture, the environment and research .

Switzerland is a full member of the United Nations.

BasTrust Corporation Limited, Geneva Branch
24 Route des Acacias
1227 Les Acacias

Telephone: +41 22 318 81 18
Facsimile: +41 22 318 81 19

E-mail: [email protected]